The Hermann Weyl Prize

The Hermann Weyl Prize was created in 2000 by the Standing Committee of the International Group Theory Colloquium.

The purpose of the Weyl Prize is to provide recognition for young scientists (younger than 35 years of age) who have performed original work of significant scientific quality in the area of understanding physics through symmetries.

The Hermann Weyl prize consists of a certificate citing the accomplishments of the recipient, prize money of $500 and an allowance towards attendance at the bi-annual International Group Theory Colloquium at which the award is presented.

Candidates are nominated by or through members of the Standing Comittee.

Nominations should include:

  • five copies of the PhD thesis + all publications and reports by the nominee together with a summary (up to 4 pages) of their work,
  • a brief curriculum vitae of the nominee,
  • a letter from the nominating scientist both introducing the nominee and explaining the nomination,
  • at least two letters seconding the nomination.

The deadline for nominations is the 31 st January 2010.

Previous winners of the award are:

  • 2002: Edward Frenkel
  • 2004: Nikita A. Nekrasov
  • 2006: Boyko Bakalov
  • 2008: Mohammad M. Sheikh-Jabbari